Board of Directors

Andrew Allen, M.D., Ph.D.

Rich Heyman, Ph.D.

Richard A. Heyman is Executive Chairman and Co-Founder of Metacrine Inc., a biotech start-up company formed in June 2015 that is developing new therapeutics for the treatment of diabetes and related metabolic disorders.  Previously, Dr. Heyman served as Chief Executive Officer of Seragon Pharmaceuticals, which was acquired by Genentech/Roche in August 2014.  Prior to Seragon he co-founded and was Chief Executive Officer of Aragon Pharmaceuticals, purchased by Johnson & Johnson in August 2013. Earlier in his career, Heyman co-founded and served as Chief Scientific Officer of X-Ceptor Therapeutics and held various roles at Ligand Pharmaceuticals, where he identified and developed Panretin® and Targretin®, retinoids approved by the U.S. FDA for the treatment of cancer.  He is the author or inventor on more than 120 publications and patents.  Heyman serves on the Board of Trustees of the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, and is a board member of Receptos Inc., Organovo Inc., and BIOCOM. He is also a member of the Therapeutic Advisory Board for aTyr Pharma and serves on the Executive Committee of the UCSD Moores Cancer Center.  He was an NIH post-doctoral fellow and staff scientist at the Salk Institute.  Heyman received a Ph.D. in pharmacology from the University of Minnesota and a B.S. in chemistry from the University of Connecticut.

Patrick J Mahaffy, Chairman

Patrick J. Mahaffy is a Co-Founder of Clovis Oncology and has served as President and Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors since the company’s inception in 2009. Previously, Mahaffy served as President and Chief Executive Officer and as a member of the Board of Directors at Pharmion Corporation, which he founded in 2000 and sold to Celgene Corporation in 2008. From 1992 through 1998, Mahaffy was President and Chief Executive Officer of NeXagen, Inc. and its successor, NeXstar Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company. Earlier in his career, Mahaffy was a Vice President at the private equity firm E.M. Warburg Pincus and Co. He currently serves on the Boards of Directors of Orexigen Therapeutics, Inc. (NASDAQ: OREX) and Flexion Therapeutics, Inc. (NASDAQ: FLXN), and is a trustee of Lewis and Clark College. Mahaffy has a B.A. in International Affairs from Lewis and Clark College and an M.A. in International Affairs from Columbia University.

Nicholas Simon

Nicholas Simon has been a Managing Director of Clarus Ventures since the firm’s inception in 2005. Prior to Clarus, Simon was a General Partner at MPM Capital, a healthcare venture capital firm. He has more than 20 years of operating and investment experience in the biopharmaceutical industry, including serving as Vice President of Business and Corporate Development at Genentech from 1989 to 2000.  Simon is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Nuvelution Pharma and Chairman of Sientra (NASDAQ: SIEN).  He has been a member of the Board of Directors of numerous private and public life science companies, including Achillion (NASDAQ:ACHN), Avanir Pharmaceuticals (acquired by Otsuka Pharmaceuticals), Barrier Therapeutics (acquired by Stiefel Laboratories), Biovitrum AB (STO:SOBI), Cotherix (acquired by Actelion) , InterMune (acquired by Roche), Pearl Therapeutics,Inc. (acquired by AstraZeneca), Quatrx Pharmaceuticals, Rigel (NASDAQ:RIGL), and Sangstat (acquired by Genzyme).  Simon is a member of the Foundation Board at the Gladstone Institute, a private not-for-profit research institute affiliated with the University of California, San Francisco. He received a B.S. degree in microbiology from the University of Maryland and an MBA from Loyola University. 

Peter Svennilson

Peter Svennilson is the Founder and Managing Partner of The Column Group ("TCG"), a San Francisco-based biotech venture firm. He has worked in venture capital and finance for the past 30 years. He was the Chairman of Aragon Pharmaceuticals from its inception until it was sold to Johnson & Johnson in 2013 and was the Chairman of Seragon Pharmaceuticals until it was sold to Genentech in 2014. Svennilson is the Chairman of ORIC Pharmaceuticals and a Board Director of NGM Biopharmaceuticals, Immune Design and Gritstone Oncology. Prior to TCG, he was the Founder and Managing Partner of Three Crowns Capital where he helped finance large parts of the venture capital for biotech companies such as Tularik, Rosetta, PTC, Chemocentryx, Rinat, Tercica, Somalogic, Infinity and Five Prime. Prior to joining Three Crowns Capital, he was the Associate Managing Director in charge of European Investment Banking Origination at Nomura in London. Svennilson is a Trustee at The Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton.

Tom Woiwode Ph.D.

Tom has been with Versant Ventures since 2002, serving as a Venture Partner since 2008 and a Managing Director since 2014.  Tom has served in a number of operating roles over this time, most recently as the Chief Operating Officer of Okairos, a biopharmaceutical company developing genetic vaccines for major infectious diseases. Tom led the process that culminated in the sale of Okairos to GlaxoSmithKline for $325M. Prior to his role with Okairos, Tom co-founded EuroVentures, a wholly owned biotech incubator within Versant Ventures, and in this role, served as the founding Chief Business Officer for three biotech companies created within Versant: Flexion (public), Synosia (public, merged with BioTie), and Amira (acquired by Bristol-Myers Squibb for up to $475M). Prior to his role as a Venture Partner, Tom was a Principal at Versant Ventures and served on the boards of Antipodean, Metabolex and Saegis. Tom was a research scientist at XenoPort before joining Versant. Tom earned his PhD in Organic Chemistry as an NSF Fellow at Stanford University and graduated summa cum laude with a BA in English and received the Departmental Citation for his B.S. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley.

Tom currently serves on the boards of Annapurna, Anokion, Audentes, CRISPR, Gritstone, Kanyos Bio, and Therachon.