Andrew Allen, M.D., Ph.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer

Andrew Allen is a Co-Founder of Gritstone Oncology and serves as President, Chief Executive Officer and a member of the Board of Directors. Dr. Allen was a Co-Founder of Clovis Oncology (NASDAQ: CLVS)  and served as Executive Vice President of Clinical and Pre-Clinical Development and Chief Medical Officer from the time of the company’s inception in 2009 until July 2015. Prior to that, Allen was Chief Medical Officer at Pharmion Corporation, which was sold to Celgene Corporation in 2008 for $2.9 billion, following the development of Vidaza™ for the treatment of myelodysplastic syndromes and Thalomid™ for the front-line treatment of multiple myeloma. Allen also served previously in Clinical Development leadership roles at Chiron Corporation and Abbott Laboratories, and worked at McKinsey & Company in London and New Jersey, advising life science companies on strategic issues.  Allen trained in Medicine at Oxford University and obtained a Ph.D. in Immunology at Imperial College, London. He currently serves on the board of directors of Epizyme (NASDAQ: EPZM), and Cell Design Labs (San Francisco, CA) and advises Epic Sciences (La Jolla, CA).


Karin Jooss, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President of Research and Chief Scientific Officer

Karin Jooss serves as Chief Scientific Officer of Gritstone Oncology.  Dr. Jooss joined Gritstone from Pfizer, where she served as head of Cancer Immunotherapeutics within the Vaccine Immunotherapeutics department for seven years.  While at Pfizer, she built and led immuno-oncology teams, was a member of the Vaccine Immunotherapeutics leadership team and served as the head of the Immunophamacology team. Her duties included overseeing the assessment of all cancer vaccine in-licensing opportunities, and developing and launching Pfizer’s first clinical cancer vaccine program deploying a variety of vaccine platforms and immune modulators to build a multi-component vaccine-based immunotherapy regimen. Prior to joining Pfizer, Jooss served as vice president of Research at Cell Genesys, Inc. where she oversaw all research activities related to the company’s cancer vaccine and oncolytic virotherapy programs. Jooss received her Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from the University of Marburg in Germany and performed postgraduate work in gene therapy and immunology at the University of Pennsylvania. She is on the editorial board of Molecular Therapy and Journal of Gene Medicine and is a member of the immunology and educational committee for the American Society of Gene Therapy as well as the Industry Task Force of the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC).


Roman Yelensky, Ph.D.
Chief Technical Officer

Roman Yelensky serves as Executive Vice President of Sequencing and Bioinformatics, responsible for therapeutic neo-antigen discovery and selection. Dr. Yelensky joined Gritstone from Foundation Medicine (NASDAQ: FMI), where he was Vice President of Biomarker and Companion Diagnostic Development. Yelensky, who joined Foundation Medicine at its inception, co-led sequence data analysis for FoundationOneTM and led validation studies supporting clinical laboratory accreditation. While at Foundation, Yelensky contributed regularly to key national initiatives on the clinical implementation and oversight of next-generation sequencing (NGS), leading the diagnostic implementation of Lung-MAP, a first-of-its-kind NCI-sponsored trial matching lung cancer patients to investigational treatments using comprehensive genomic testing. Prior to joining Foundation Medicine, Yelensky was a Senior Scientist in Biomarker Development at Novartis. He holds a Ph.D. in Bioinformatics and Integrative Genomics from the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, with thesis research at the Broad Institute, and an MS in Computer Science from Stanford University. He has co-authored more than 50 manuscripts on bioinformatics, statistical genetics, NGS biomarker and assay development, and cancer genomics.


Matthew Hawryluk, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President and Chief Business Officer

Matthew Hawryluk serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Business Officer, and leads partnering activities at Gritstone. Dr. Hawryluk joined Gritstone after serving as the Vice President of Corporate and Business Development at Foundation Medicine (NASDAQ: FMI), where he led the Biopharmaceutical business and a team responsible for business development, strategic alliances, and operations. Hawryluk forged partnerships with dozens of biopharma companies over more than four years, providing comprehensive genomic profiling for clinical trials, molecular information, and companion diagnostics. Previously, he held roles in business development, marketing, and product management across multiple divisions of Thermo Fisher Scientific. Hawryluk holds a Ph.D. in Cell Biology and Protein Biochemistry from the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and completed his MBA at Carnegie Mellon University’s Tepper School of Business as a Swartz Entrepreneurial Fellow.


Erin E. Jones, M.S.
Senior Vice President and Global Head of Regulatory Affairs and Quality Assurance

Erin Jones serves as Senior Vice President and Global Head of Regulatory Affairs and Quality Assurance. Prior to Gritstone, Jones served as Global Head of Regulatory, Medical Writing, and Pharmacology/Toxicology at Puma Biotechnology, in support of neratinib’s late stage development.  While at Genentech, Jones held a variety of positions including Head of Regulatory Intelligence and HER Franchise Regulatory Group Leader, where he oversaw late-stage development, BLA submissions, and ODAC preparations for Kadcyla™ and Perjeta™ in HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer, and led approvals for Herceptin™ in HER2-positive adjuvant breast and gastric cancers. Additionally, Jones has directed the regulatory development of dozens of small-molecules, monoclonal antibodies, antibody-drug conjugates, plasmids, adenoviral gene therapies, and companion diagnostics in oncology and hematology at Genentech, BioMarin, Cephalon, and Centocor. Jones received his MS in Computer Systems at Pennsylvania State University.